School Spotlight: Indiana Wesleyan University

Indiana Wesleyan University

Indiana Wesleyan University is a Christian university, founded in 1920 as Marion College. The school has since grown into the largest private college in Indiana as well as the largest member of the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities. IWU is affiliated with The Wesleyan Church (an evangelical Protestant denomination), and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Fast Facts

  • Year Founded: 1920
  • Approximate Student Body as of 2016: 14,000
  • Number of Programs: 70+
  • Main Campus Location: Marion, IN
  • Nickname/Mascot: Wildcats/Wesley the Wildcat
  • School Colors: Red and Gray
  • Publication: The Sojourn
  • Fun Fact: Began offering online courses and degree programs in 1996, and now over 5,000 students pursue their degrees and take classes online.

Available Programs at a Glance

The following list is just a small sample of the programs you’ll find at Indiana Wesleyan University. Most programs are available online or at the school’s campus, and you can use the links to learn more about each degree. You can also view the entire selection of degrees from Indiana Wesleyan University.

Under the Microscope

IWU also offers accelerated degree completion programs both online and at learning sites located throughout Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio, including:

  • More than 80 undergraduate degrees
  • 38 graduate degrees
  • 5 doctorate degrees

Its adult education program has received national recognition with over 10,000 adult learners attending classes at education centers in Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio, and online. IWU recently launched a new bachelor’s degree in international relations and security that students can complete online and its Ott Hall of Sciences and Nursing opened in the spring of 2014.

IWU also offers the John Wesley Honors College designed for undergraduate students interested in a more intensive liberal learning community. The JWHC takes an inquiry-based learning approach to help students reach their highest intellectual and spiritual potential.

Currently, IWU is comprised of five academic departments that offer a diversity of opportunity. These departments include the following:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Adult and Professional Studies (CAPS)
  • Graduate School
  • School of Nursing
  • Wesley Seminary

IWU offers financial assistance for active-duty military students and their spouses as well as for veterans and is recognized by G. I. Jobs magazine as a “Military Friendly School.” For active-duty military personnel, students may receive discounted tuition for selected programs.